Upcoming Events

Parliamentary Debates


  • Team size 3

This debate shall follow the ‘3-on-3’ Parliamentary style of debating. Depending upon the number of participants, the competition shall be conducted in two main phases: Phase 1, the ‘Preliminary Rounds’ which shall incorporate a minimum of 2 rounds and Phase 2, the ‘Knockout Rounds’ would essentially comprise of octo-finals, quarter-finals, semi-finals and the finals.

The teams match-up i.e. the draw for the preliminary rounds would be randomly assigned. Subsequently, the rounds of Phase 2 will be knockout rounds with the winning tea in each round advancing to the next round. The match-ups in Phase 2 will be Round Robin wherein the team ranked last in Phase 1 will face the top ranked team, the second last team will face the second ranked team and so on. It may be noted that the points from Phase 1 will not be carried forward to Phase 2. However, for adjudging the best speaker, the scores from Phase 1 will be considered.

The decision of the Chief Adjudicators shall be final in all aspects relating to the debate.
To acclimatize the teams to the format of the debate, the organizers shall be conducting a Demo Round which would consist of two volunteer teams from IIM-A. All adjudicators are compulsorily required to attend this round, which will serve as the initial basis for the adjudicator selection process.

The detailed rules and regulations applicable to the debate have been listed below which may be carefully perused by the participating teams.


  • Team size - 3
  • The members of teams have to be from same institute.
  • A student cannot be part of more than one team.
  • All decisions in matters of eligibility, authenticity, and final judgments will be with Confluence team.
  • The format and rules of events are subject to change before the start of the event
  • This event is open to all the students
  • There is no limit to the number of teams participating from an institute.


  • Registration start date - 17th October
  • Registration end date - 12th November


First Prize – INR 30,000 Second Prize – INR 20,000


Aayush Juneja
Punyashlok Dwibedy